Midnight Sun Tour 2019

The Baltic Sea Philharmonic and Kristjan Järvi are back with ‘Midnight Sun’! This November they bring their acclaimed concert programme to the Müpa concert hall in Budapest

The Baltic Sea Philharmonic will bring its 2019 touring to a close with a ‘Midnight Sun’ concert in Budapest on 19 November. The performance, at Müpa Budapest, will be the orchestra’s debut in Hungary. Joining the orchestra and its Music Director Kristjan Järvi will be the Hungarian pianist József Balog as soloist in Grieg’s Piano Concerto. The concerto will be imaginatively intertwined with another celebrated Grieg work, the Suite No. 1 from Peer Gynt. The concert will climax with Stravinsky’s 1945 orchestral version of The Firebird – a piece which the orchestra became the first in the world to perform completely from memory, on the Baltic Sea island of Gotland in 2017. As is now the trademark of the boundary-breaking Baltic Sea Philharmonic, the entire programme will be played by heart, with the musicians free to stand, move and interact dynamically with each other and with the conductor.

József Balog was born in Budapest in 1979 and is one of the most talented pianists of his generation. In the last 20 years he has given more than 1,000 concerts as a soloist and chamber musician in more than 25 countries across Europe, North America and Asia. Growing up surrounded by the amazing heritage of the renowned Hungarian piano tradition established by Liszt, Dohnányi and Bartók, Balog graduated from the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music in Budapest, where he studied with Jenő Jandó. Having performed with orchestras including the Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra, the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, the Ukrainian National Philharmonic and the Jerusalem Chamber Orchestra, he will be making his debut with the Baltic Sea Philharmonic and Kristjan Järvi in the 19 November concert. яндекс

‘Midnight Sun’ Tour 2019

Tuesday, 19 November 2019, 7.30 pm
Müpa Budapest, Budapest (Hungary)

Baltic Sea Philharmonic & Kristjan Järvi
Special Guest József Balog

Edvard Grieg
Peer Gynt Suite No. 1

Edvard Grieg
Piano Concerto

Igor Stravinsky
The Firebird